New rules for holiday travelers to Türkiye –

As the holiday season approaches, our travelers are getting ready. Some of them plan to go to Turkey by plane, while others prefer to travel by car. Looking at here the pictures.

However, recent posts on social media have caused confusion among Dutch Turks and Belgians planning to travel to Turkey.

When planning your vacation, you need to take into account the facts below.

As is known, Bulgaria and Romania will become part of the Schengen Area as of March 31. In these two routes, which are usually used to travel to Turkey by land, there is an important rule that travelers should pay attention to.

Although these two countries have been members of the European Union (EU) since 2007, passengers had to show a passport upon entry because they were not part of the free zone at the border.

In December, the interior ministries of both countries announced that some border controls would be lifted.

He stated that as of March 31, EU citizens traveling to these two countries by sea and air will no longer be required to present a passport upon arrival.

Stricter controls

However, stricter controls apply to land travel. Anyone entering these two countries by land from an EU country (i.e. by car, train or bus) is subject to passport control.

Bulgaria and Romania will join free movement within the European Union from 31 March. Therefore, there will be stricter controls when entering from Turkey to Bulgaria.

See also  Extreme heat in Australia: more than 40 degrees in Sydney, 15 degrees above normal | Weather News

European Turks who want to travel to Turkey by car will have to wait longer at Bulgarian border posts this summer upon their return.

From March 31, when Bulgaria and Romania partially join the Schengen area allowing free movement within the EU, stricter vehicle inspections will be carried out at customs posts.

This will result in longer queues of cars on days with a large number of travellers. Bulgaria can barely handle the crowds, so the queues will get longer. As a result, return trips have become a challenge.

What is the Schengen Area and when was it established?

The Schengen Area was established in 1995 by Germany, Belgium, France, Luxembourg and the Netherlands, following the Schengen Treaty signed ten years earlier between five member states of the European Economic Community.

This was followed by other agreements that added nine more countries to freedom of movement.

Source: Sonhaber”

Denton Watson

"Friend of animals everywhere. Evil twitter fan. Pop culture evangelist. Introvert."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *