Spain is participating in the European elections for the ninth time

Since Spain joined the European Union in 1985, the country has participated in these elections nine times. The PSOE (socialists) and PP (conservatives) each won four times, sometimes by very small margins. In 2019, the SWP won 20 seats. The rise of new parties such as Podemos, Ciudadanos and Vox has changed the political landscape. Regional parties and independence movements also had their say.

The Socialists PSOE won their last victory victory