Spain is extending the travel ban to non-Schengen countries and outside the European Union

© YouTube

The Ministry of the Interior announced the extension of the travel ban for travelers from outside the European Union and non-Schengen countries to Spain on Monday. It was published the same day in the BOE Official Gazette.

The travel ban is extended for the fifth time

Spanish news site El Confidencial wrote on Monday that Interior Minister Grande Marlaska imposed the travel ban in early July 2020. After several extensions, it will expire on March 31, 2021. Travel restrictions from these regions are now being extended for the fifth time.


Some exceptions have been mentioned in the publication of the extension in the Bank of England. For example, travel is permitted for essential reasons, such as work reasons and medical reasons. There are also exceptions for various professional groups such as healthcare personnel, medical researchers, people working in transportation, students, diplomats, and people who have to travel to Spain for health reasons.

Spain lifts other travel restrictions

Earlier this week, Spain decided to lift restrictions on travelers from the United Kingdom. This also allows people to enter Spain from the Schengen area via the checkpoint on the Gibraltar border from March 30th.

Other countries have restrictions on travel to and from Spain

The Spanish embassy in Morocco announced, Monday, the cancellation of flights between Morocco, Spain and France, starting Tuesday, March 30th. The Moroccan authorities took this decision in light of the increasing number of infections in the two European countries.

See also  US debt mountain grows by $572 billion in two weeks

Megan Vasquez

"Creator. Coffee buff. Internet lover. Organizer. Pop culture geek. Tv fan. Proud foodaholic."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *